Tuesday, October 6, 2009

Towa Tei - Future Listening!, 1994 (192kbps)

"Towa Tei mixes the sounds of cheesy 1960s mood music with contemporary club tunes. He is shamelessly pancultural, picking what he pleases from the U.S., Europe, South America, and Asia. With one foot in the recent past and one in the immediate future, Future Listening is intelligent dance music that one can actually listen to.

Significantly, Tei is both everywhere and nowhere to be found on the album. He composed or co-composed all but one song, and wrote many of the lyrics. He programmed most of the computers, and played most of the keyboards. But he takes no blazing solos and sings hardly a word — only background vocals, on just two songs. Yet his musical sensibility permeates the music. Like Gustave Flaubert, Tei expresses himself through careful self-effacement."
- Text from Blogcritics

59th Greatest Japanese Rock Albums of All Time according to Rolling Stone Japan.

Towa Tei - Future Listening!

  1. I Want to Relax, Please!
  2. Technova (La em Copacabana)
  3. Batucada
  4. Luv Connection
  5. Meditation!
  6. Raga Musgo
  7. Son of Bambi (Walk Tuff)
  8. Douce Vie (Amai Seikatsu)
  9. Obrigado
  10. Dubnova (Part1&2)
BUY: CDJapan